Print Making with Recycled Meat Trays

img_8377

“I dream of painting and then I paint my dream.” -Vincent Van Gogh

What You Need

  • recycled meat trays
  • pencil/wooden skewer (to etch in meat tray)
  • acrylic paints (we got ours from the dollar store)
  • mini paint rollers (we got these from the dollar store too)
  • paper

Step 1

  1. Cut the sides of a recycled meat tray off so that you have a flat shape left. Use a pencil or wooden skewer to etch a design the meat tray.

2. Dip a paint roller acrylic paint and lightly roll onto meat tray. (If you put too much paint on the meat tray you may not be able to see the white design left behind.)img_83253. Place meat tray on paper and firmly press down. Experiment with pressing multiple prints on one sheet and with multiple colours. Wash tray and print with a new colour.

img_8326“See me make 4 flowers. I did spirals in the middle.”
img_8327“I can mix the paint. I’m putting more colours on top.”img_9906“I like how the paint squishes the colours.”
img_9908“My heart. It’s so little. Just like my other one. It copied it.”

Happy print making!

Leave a Reply

